Congrats to Rafa but my heart goes out to Roger

I truly enjoyed watching the Federer vs Nadal match at the Australian Open this morning. Roger was almost himself again, hitting shots confidently and coming to the net more often. His footwork had improved too, but once his backhand started failing him, Rafa swooped in for the kill.

I do give credit to the Spaniard. Rafa is a top notch player and World No. 1 player to beat. It would had been pure luck for Roger to come back from a bad year and beat Rafa. I had a glimpse of hope in the first set but when Rafa played on his terms, I knew it was over for Roger. He tried though. There were some really good rallies and back and forth exchange. Roger had hit some quality shots which were a long time coming. It’s great seeing him playing well again and I wish him all the luck this year. I think all his fans are waiting for another win, at Roland Garros or better yet, at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells in March.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment