Wild Golf Carts

Jaguar Golf Cart

Jaguar Golf Cart

I’m giving credit to “Korky” Korkes for designing and building the Bob Hope golf cart that is on display at the Humana Golf Challenge. It truly is a work of art. And I’m surprised to hear that there are a lot of people taking credit for building it.

When golfing, I love it when someone pulls up their custom cart and parks it next to me. I’ve seen all sorts of carts including the one “Korky” built of Bob Hope. The latest one I’ve seen is the Jaguar but I’ve had the pleasure of seeing BMW’s, Mercedes, Mustangs, Rolls Royces and even Hummers.

Electric Car Distributors has been family owned and operated for over 50 years. They are located in Rancho Mirage on Hwy 111. Sometimes when you are driving by, they will have a golf cart parked in front of their store for sale. Last week, they had a Sebring on sale for a little less than $3,000. I liked it but it wasn’t convertible. They try to sell me a red one for $4,500 but I wouldn’t budge. For $5500, they had one called a Humdinger. It had a Jeep grill but I don’t think it was meant for golfing. There was no place for your clubs and it was pretty high up. It also had a safari roof which would be perfect to driving around on a savannah.

Like a Mercedes-Benz, there was one that was on sale for $7,050. It looked like a E-class but when I asked if they had Xenon headlights, they said no. They tinted the windows upfront but there’s no rear defrost. It also gets drafty in there.

There was also an antique cart for sale, a 47 Chevy. I don’t know what that sold for but it’s gone. I hope to see that one on a golf course one day with its owner. If you’re into custom golf carts or parades, bookmark October 28th, 2012 in your calendar. The Palm Desert Golf Cart Parade is an annual event since 1983. The day starts off with a pancake breakfast then at 10am, judging begins and the awards ceremony kicks off at 12:30. Finally at 1:00pm, the parade starts on El Paseo and it goes westward from San Luis Rey to Ocotillo. Lots of Canadian snowbirds attend this event so plan on getting there early.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a comment